Contemplating Finn

Last week you were introduced to Finn who is having some health troubles.  He does not seem to think that anything serious is happening to him nor that he needs to be making any changes to his lifestyle.  This is not an unusual state for people to be in, especially in a day and age when the common way to take care of any discomfort is to pop a pill.  Finn is in what the Stages of Change model refers to as the “Precontemplation Stage.”

Wow.  It has been a while since I’ve felt up to writing a journal entry.  The last few weeks have been especially trying since I’ve been working my new position and was also diagnosed with high blood pressure.  It turns out that my migraine and blurred vision were signs of a hypertensive emergency.  I didn’t go to the doctor right away because I thought I had just spent too much time working and then having beers in the sun.  I decided to head to the doctor when my migraine returned for a few days, preventing me from going to work.  I really wanted to impress everyone at work, and being sick was not helping.  The medical assistant caught my high blood pressure right away and it was so high that I was admitted to the hospital.  Talk about a crazy day.

I’m home now, and back at work.  I have been given some blood pressure medication and spent some time in classes to help me learn how to improve my health.  There is A LOT I need to be doing to turn things around.  I just don’t think I can do everything they are telling me, and I honestly don’t really want to.  I like eating how I eat and drinking what I drink.  I don’t have time for any of that going to the gym BS either.  I have work and a family to raise.  It is scary though, especially after learning about my uncle’s stroke and that I am at a really high risk for stroke now, too.  My family is being really supportive so that will help me in the long run.  I’ve got a family to support….a stroke would be devastating.

Enough out of me.  My boss wants to spend some time talking tomorrow because he has high blood pressure too and has been managing it for years.  I don’t really want to dwell on all of this, but who knows, I might learn something!

To refresh your memory:

Introduction

Part 1

Borrowed from recoveryroadmap.com

Leave a Reply

